Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


    2 Pages V  < 1 2  
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Getting DTS to work without converting.
    ToJa92
    post May 16 2010, 02:56 PM
    Post #21


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    QUOTE (WDUser @ May 16 2010, 09:27 PM) *
    AFAIK, with DTS and the Gen. 1, you'll only get pass-through to receiver, not downmix to stereo.

    That is correct.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post May 16 2010, 02:56 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 02:49 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    Glottis
    post May 16 2010, 03:13 PM
    Post #22


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 15-May 10
    Member No.: 18,955




    QUOTE (WDUser @ May 16 2010, 08:27 PM) *
    AFAIK, with DTS and the Gen. 1, you'll only get pass-through to receiver, not downmix to stereo.

    ok, thx. so with gen1 and ac3 i can downmix 5.1 to 2.0 PCM (optical). right?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    ToJa92
    post May 16 2010, 03:18 PM
    Post #23


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    QUOTE (Glottis @ May 16 2010, 10:13 PM) *
    ok, thx. so with gen1 and ac3 i can downmix 5.1 to 2.0 PCM (optical). right?

    You will need to have a receiver which downmix, the WDTV can't downmix 'on-the-fly'.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Glottis
    post May 17 2010, 01:56 AM
    Post #24


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 15-May 10
    Member No.: 18,955




    but ac3 5.1 is playing trought an analog output (stereo of course) so some type of downmix is build in. i am confused. somewhere is writen its possible, somewhere not :/
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    ToJa92
    post May 17 2010, 03:27 AM
    Post #25


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    Then the TV is just playing the channels it can play. It's DTS tracks that don't downmix, and some other track I can't remember.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    2 Pages V  < 1 2
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 02:49 PM