Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       No Sound via HDMI with WDTV HD Media Player
    The Jester
    post Jan 4 2010, 12:38 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 4-January 10
    Member No.: 10,329




    Hi All,

    Just bought this little beauty and I am really pleased with it, however, I have no sound via HDMI. The player is connected to a WD 1 Tb HD.

    The picture quality is great but there is no sound

    My TV is set to HDMI 2 which is correct but no sound can anyone help, please?

    Thanks in advance,

    Jester
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Jan 4 2010, 12:38 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 01:30 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Jan 4 2010, 01:00 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,373
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Have you set the player's output mode to HDMI? It should auto-detect, but just in case it didn't...

    Sound depends upon the audio codec used in the file as well and whether the player supports it or not. Try playing the files via the composite connection and see. If there's no audio, you may need an external receiver depending on the files you're trying to play.

    According to people who've faced similar issues with HDMI, most often it turns out to be the cable's fault. Try wiggling it around and make sure the contacts are fine at both end. The #1 recommended solution would be to simply try a bunch of other HDMI 1.2/1.3 cables 'cos some just don't work despite all you do.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    The Jester
    post Jan 4 2010, 03:12 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 4-January 10
    Member No.: 10,329




    Thanks for the quick response.

    I have connected an optical cable and it seems to have worked but I also changed the HDMI lead (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

    Once again many thanks.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 01:30 AM