Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       LPCM over HDMI? Possible?
    seedubxj
    post Jan 11 2010, 03:36 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 20
    Joined: 21-November 09
    Member No.: 6,784




    Assuming I have a file with uncompressed LPCM audio, can I sent it via HDMI to my receiver (which handles LPCM)? I know HDMI 1.2 is necessary for this, so I am hoping the WDTV will handle this.

    Am I way off base?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Jan 11 2010, 03:36 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 11:01 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    PangaDayWalker
    post Jan 12 2010, 04:00 AM
    Post #2


    WDTV Mod
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 212
    Joined: 8-July 09
    From: Brazil - Curitiba
    Member No.: 934




    I don't think it will. But since you have the file it would be good to have someone testing it and letting us know.

    Cheers.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Jan 12 2010, 07:26 AM
    Post #3


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    The 1st Gen. WD TV can use HDMI 1.2 cables, whereas the 2nd Gen. model and the Live can use HDMI 1.3. I feel the player may well pass-through the LPCM audio stream to your receiver if it cannot recognise/decode it, so it just might work. AS PDW said though, best thing to do is try it and let us know how it went.

    P.S. The manual says the 1st Gen. player can handle LPCM audio...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    seedubxj
    post Jan 12 2010, 10:15 AM
    Post #4


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 20
    Joined: 21-November 09
    Member No.: 6,784




    I guess the bigger question is if it can support MULTICHANNEL LPCM.

    I have the Blu Ray version of 300, that has LPCM. I'll mess around with it and see what I come up with.

    The files I have are mt2s, and the video plays fine, but no audio, yet. I may try to make an ISO file out of it and see if that works.

    Thanks guys.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    PangaDayWalker
    post Jan 13 2010, 12:22 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV Mod
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 212
    Joined: 8-July 09
    From: Brazil - Curitiba
    Member No.: 934




    I still don't believe the Gen 1 can handle LPCM (even pass thru).

    I think it won't have sound.

    Hope I am wrong.

    Cheers.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    seedubxj
    post Jan 14 2010, 12:52 AM
    Post #6


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 20
    Joined: 21-November 09
    Member No.: 6,784




    Looks like you're right.

    Is there an official list of audio that can be passed via hdmi?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    PangaDayWalker
    post Apr 26 2010, 07:02 AM
    Post #7


    WDTV Mod
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 212
    Joined: 8-July 09
    From: Brazil - Curitiba
    Member No.: 934




    QUOTE (seedubxj @ Jan 14 2010, 02:52 AM) *
    Looks like you're right.

    Is there an official list of audio that can be passed via hdmi?

    Official no, but DD and DTS are no problem and also DD Stereo to the TV is also ok.

    I think AAC stereo should be ok too.

    Cheers.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    ToJa92
    post Apr 26 2010, 07:40 AM
    Post #8


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    Have you tried to use an optic cable?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 11:01 PM