Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       WDTV 1st gen will not play .M4V
    shreaded
    post Feb 2 2010, 10:54 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 2-February 10
    Member No.: 12,214




    any idea's why it will not play .M4V videos? it sez "unsupported format"

    thanks, and i did search to no avail...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Feb 2 2010, 10:54 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 11:46 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    shreaded
    post Feb 2 2010, 02:47 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 2-February 10
    Member No.: 12,214




    no one???
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Feb 2 2010, 02:56 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Be patient, people aren't sitting here 24x7 waiting to answer queries. This isn't the official WD forum, nor is it WD Support.

    Try renaming to MP4. If that doesn't work, run MediaInfo on one such file and copy-paste the report here.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    shreaded
    post Feb 2 2010, 03:08 PM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 2-February 10
    Member No.: 12,214




    thanks. renamed all my >M4V files to >MP4. ill try when i get home and let you know. thank you.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    OsvaL
    post Feb 14 2010, 01:36 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 14-February 10
    From: Asuncion, Paraguay
    Member No.: 12,953




    Hi everyone,

    I really tried everything to play mp4 videos converted from AVI to MP4 H.264 AAC, and always receive the "This file is not supported" while isn't true. I read on the specs that the WD HDTV supports this kind of format. I'm able to see the thumbnail but won't play the video.

    If someone had the same problems and solved please write.

    In case you may need the information regarding the codification here is the movie data:

    QUOTE
    *** MediaInfo Mac // Plain text file report
    2010-02-14 16:06:00 -0300
    Information for File: Movie.mp4

    General / Container Stream # 1
    Total Video Streams for this File -> 1
    Total Audio Streams for this File -> 1
    Video Codecs Used -> AVC
    Audio Codecs Used -> AAC LC
    File Format -> MPEG-4
    Play Time -> 1h 57mn
    Total File Size -> 877 MiB
    Total Stream BitRate -> 1 043 Kbps
    Title (Tag) -> Movie
    Encoded with -> HandBrake 0.9.4 2009112300

    Video Stream # 1
    Codec (Human Name) -> AVC
    Codec (FourCC) -> avc1
    Codec Profile -> Main@L3.0
    Frame Width -> 720 pixels
    Frame Height -> 304 pixels
    Frame Rate -> 23.976 fps
    Total Frames -> 168959
    Display Aspect Ratio -> 2.35
    Scan Type -> Progressive
    Colorimetry -> 4:2:0
    Codec Settings (Summary) -> CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
    QF (like Gordian Knot) -> 0.173
    Codec Settings (CABAC) -> Yes
    Video Stream Length -> 1h 57mn 26s 992ms
    Video Stream BitRate -> 906 Kbps
    Video Stream BitRate Mode -> VBR
    Bit Depth -> 24 bits
    Video Stream Size -> 761 MiB (87%)
    Video Encoder -> x264 - core 79 r1347 5ddd61b
    Video Encoder (Settings) -> cabac=1 / ref=2 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x1:0x111 / me=hex / subme=6 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=0 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=0 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=2 / b_pyramid=0 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=0 / wpredp=2 / keyint=240 / keyint_min=24 / scenecut=40 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=20.8 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Date of Original Encoding -> UTC 2010-02-14 04:52:18

    Audio Stream # 1
    Codec -> AAC
    Codec (FourCC) -> 40
    Audio Stream Length -> 1h 57mn 27s 94ms
    Audio Stream BitRate -> 128 Kbps
    Audio Stream BitRate Mode -> VBR
    Number of Audio Channels -> 2
    Audio Channel's Positions -> L R
    Sampling Rate -> 44.1 KHz
    Bit Depth -> 16 bits
    Audio Stream Size -> 108 MiB (12%)
    Date of Original Encoding -> UTC 2010-02-14 04:52:18
    Reason for edit: Changed font size to something readable!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Feb 14 2010, 02:53 PM
    Post #6


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    First of all, why are you converting the AVIs in the first place? You'll only end up with quality loss. Also, how did you convert? Using Handbrake? Try the High@L4.1 profile and see.

    P.S. I deleted your duplicate post. Kindly stick to one thread per issue.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    OsvaL
    post Feb 14 2010, 05:12 PM
    Post #7


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 14-February 10
    From: Asuncion, Paraguay
    Member No.: 12,953




    Thanks WDTV Geek, sorry for the double post, I realized that but was too late and I didn't know how to delete my first post. I convert from AVI because is the way I have my movies in my hard drive, and now I want to have all of them organized in iTunes with the covert art and the spanish subtitles in only one container. I think it is more organized and easier to then copy these files to my iPod or iPhone.

    And yes, I use Handbrake 0.9.4 Regular > Normal profile.

    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    OsvaL
    post Feb 14 2010, 08:24 PM
    Post #8


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 14-February 10
    From: Asuncion, Paraguay
    Member No.: 12,953




    I tried with the high profile option but with the same results "Unable to play the selected file." I really don't know what is going on, everything seems to be OK with the file and the conversion process but for some reason the WD HDTV won't play it.

    Here is the movie info from the last movie I tried to convert using the high profile. This is another file, not the same I tried before. The weird thing is that any other player will open, VLC, QuickTime, iTunes, etc.

    This high profile method took 3x more time that the regular normal profile.

    QUOTE
    *** MediaInfo Mac // Plain text file report
    2010-02-14 23:23:23 -0300
    Information for File: 9.mp4

    General / Container Stream # 1
    Total Video Streams for this File -> 1
    Total Audio Streams for this File -> 1
    Video Codecs Used -> AVC
    Audio Codecs Used -> AAC LC
    File Format -> MPEG-4
    Play Time -> 1h 16mn
    Total File Size -> 488 MiB
    Total Stream BitRate -> 898 Kbps
    Title (Tag) -> 9
    Encoded with -> HandBrake 0.9.4 2009112300

    Video Stream # 1
    Codec (Human Name) -> AVC
    Codec (FourCC) -> avc1
    Codec Profile -> High@L3.0
    Frame Width -> 640 pixels
    Frame Height -> 336 pixels
    Frame Rate -> 24.919 fps
    Total Frames -> 113694
    Display Aspect Ratio -> 1.882
    Scan Type -> Progressive
    Colorimetry -> 4:2:0
    Codec Settings (Summary) -> CABAC / 3 Ref Frames
    QF (like Gordian Knot) -> 0.139
    Codec Settings (CABAC) -> Yes
    Video Stream Length -> 1h 16mn 2s 480ms
    Video Stream BitRate -> 745 Kbps
    Video Stream BitRate Mode -> VBR
    Bit Depth -> 24 bits
    Video Stream Size -> 405 MiB (83%)
    Video Encoder -> x264 - core 79 r1347 5ddd61b
    Video Encoder (Settings) -> cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=0 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=20.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Date of Original Encoding -> UTC 2010-02-14 23:22:22

    Audio Stream # 1
    Codec -> AAC
    Codec (FourCC) -> 40
    Audio Stream Length -> 1h 16mn 2s 581ms
    Audio Stream BitRate -> 148 Kbps
    Audio Stream BitRate Mode -> VBR
    Number of Audio Channels -> 2
    Audio Channel's Positions -> L R
    Sampling Rate -> 48.0 KHz
    Bit Depth -> 16 bits
    Audio Stream Size -> 80.3 MiB (16%)
    Date of Original Encoding -> UTC 2010-02-14 23:22:22
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Feb 15 2010, 05:15 AM
    Post #9


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Well obviously something's the matter with the file's specs, else it would work. Have you read the manual carefully to see if the file adheres to the specs? As for "other players" playing the file, there's a world of difference between software players (esp. all-in-one types such as VLC), and hardware players like the WD TV, so the former playing the file has no significance at all, except to maybe indicate that the file's fine. Whether it conforms to the WD TV's limits is a whole different matter altogether.

    BTW, any particular reason you're using Main@L3.0 and High@L3.0 profiles? I specifically asked you to try the High@L4.1 profile 'cos most of my files seem to use this, and they all work absolutely fine on the 1st Gen. WD TV. Other than this, I'm not a video encoding expert so I can't really say. Probably you should head over to a dedicated video encoding site such as videohelp.com and post there.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    OsvaL
    post Feb 23 2010, 02:13 PM
    Post #10


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 14-February 10
    From: Asuncion, Paraguay
    Member No.: 12,953




    Sorry for my ignorance WDTV Geek, but how do I do to change from High@L3.0 to High@L4.1? and also avoid the CABAC thing? I wasn't able to find any settings to change that.

    Thanks
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Feb 24 2010, 12:29 AM
    Post #11


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Well I see the CABAC setting mentioned here, and I'm sure the profile setting must also be there somewhere. Google for it, or just post in the Handbrake forum or maybe over at videohelp.com. Like I said, I'm not 100% sure that this will fix things, but this is what seems to work so no harm trying it out. In fact, videohelp.com may have encoding experts cum WD TV owners who'll be more than happy to tell you what will work with these players. If you are successful, do post back here.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    OsvaL
    post Mar 4 2010, 04:36 PM
    Post #12


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 14-February 10
    From: Asuncion, Paraguay
    Member No.: 12,953




    Finally I found out the problem, it doesn't have anything to do with the Handbrake or profile chosen. Simply the WD HDTV doesn't support soft subtitles, I tried to rip a DVD with the subtitles burned in the movie and everything works fine.

    I hope this can be helpful for some.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Mar 4 2010, 08:21 PM
    Post #13


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    I am curious about the original posters problem, was it resolved or not?
    this thread seems to have gotten hijacked ... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/dry.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Mar 5 2010, 02:41 PM
    Post #14


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    QUOTE (OsvaL @ Mar 5 2010, 03:06 AM) *
    Finally I found out the problem, it doesn't have anything to do with the Handbrake or profile chosen. Simply the WD HDTV doesn't support soft subtitles, I tried to rip a DVD with the subtitles burned in the movie and everything works fine.

    The 1st Gen. WD TV supports soft subs just fine, as long as they are in text-based SRT format. Image-based IDX/SUB files aren't supported. Read the manual for more. BTW, even if there're IDX/SUB etc. files along with the movie, the player should still play the main video fine. You must have tried embedding soft subs into the MP4, whereas AFAIK, embedded subs are supported only with MKVs. External SRTs will always work with any file though, so that's best IMO.

    QUOTE (Rev Drew @ Mar 5 2010, 06:51 AM) *
    I am curious about the original posters problem, was it resolved or not?
    this thread seems to have gotten hijacked ... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/dry.gif)

    Well shreaded never reported back, so I assume his problem was indeed solved. If it wasn't, not our concern really if he himself cannot be bothered to follow up...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 11:46 PM