Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Cannot see any of my network shares
    weezypenguin
    post Apr 1 2010, 05:41 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV EXPERT
    ****

    Group: Members
    Posts: 73
    Joined: 31-July 09
    Member No.: 1,339




    Ok, so like many others i updated my WDTV Live to the new firmware.
    And now i cannot see any of my network shares.
    I cannot even see where i put in the user and password.
    Can someone help me please..
    it is Easter and i may have to watch TV shows on the actual TV....
    Reason for edit: Use descriptive topic titles instead of stuff like "I can't believe it" etc.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Apr 1 2010, 05:41 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 12:51 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    mikiemon
    post Apr 1 2010, 06:07 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 1-April 10
    Member No.: 16,108




    Go to network setting and turn off auto log in

    Go back to look at your network shares and WDTV live will ask for user name and password

    Enter user name and password

    After getting into your network shares you can go back to network setting and turn auto log in back on, if you'd like.

    Done

    Note: It seems the firmware update resets the user name and password. So you will have to do these steps if your shares require a user name and password.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    colheart
    post Apr 10 2010, 01:31 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 17
    Joined: 4-April 10
    Member No.: 16,309




    Having the same problem. If I choose a network share the WDTV Live does nothing. No option to enter anything. Switched auto log in off without sucess...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    colheart
    post Apr 27 2010, 08:21 AM
    Post #4


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 17
    Joined: 4-April 10
    Member No.: 16,309




    Anybody has a solution yet? Maybe some router settings which are mandatory to get network shares back again? I still don't have any reaction from the WDTV Live when choosing shared drives. No login screen...nothing...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Spasch
    post Apr 29 2010, 07:05 AM
    Post #5


    WDTV GURU
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 123
    Joined: 28-April 10
    Member No.: 17,969




    Have you tried the solution posted in Win7 Sharing fix??

    I am away at the moment, but have the same issues. I rebuilt my Win 7 Pro box a little while back and initially the shares worked fine, then one day they just disappeared.. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif) I am going to try it tomorrow once I am back..
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    thekaz
    post Apr 29 2010, 12:55 PM
    Post #6


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 25-April 10
    Member No.: 17,683




    I have done the same (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)
    I updated the firmware and now I have absolutly NO NETWORK SHARES (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
    No WHS, No Laptop, No GamerBox
    The part that is frustrating is it all worked perfectly before and now there is not even a longin as if it cannot even see the network at all
    I am ready for ideas (IMG:style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Apr 29 2010, 02:02 PM
    Post #7


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,394
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    If you're absolutely sure nothing else has changed with your network settings etc. and the only change is the new FW, then try the hard reset button as mentioned in the manual, and then what mikiemon has suggested above.

    If nothing works you can try to downgrade, though I don't know if that will help.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    thekaz
    post Apr 29 2010, 03:22 PM
    Post #8


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 25-April 10
    Member No.: 17,683




    I downgraded to 1.01.24 , then reset and the same (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) I put an even older firmware in there but same (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
    very frustrating becuase it has been MONTHS of problem free viewing of movies from my WHS (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    colheart
    post Apr 30 2010, 02:49 AM
    Post #9


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 17
    Joined: 4-April 10
    Member No.: 16,309




    Hi thekaz,
    how did you connect before?
    I'm asking because I'm only able to get network shares when one device (WDTV Live or Notebook) is connected via wire directly to the router. Using both wireless isn't working here.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    thekaz
    post Apr 30 2010, 09:59 AM
    Post #10


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 25-April 10
    Member No.: 17,683




    My WDTVLive is connected to a WRT610N via hardwire with a WHS and a GamerBox with dual gigalan also connected via hardwire. The Laptop is via wireless. All three devices were seen in my network shares although I only ever connected and streamed from the WHS. Now I can see nothing in fact I don't even get any kind of logon or media not present screen. Its like network shares has been turned off or something (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    burowyako
    post Jul 23 2010, 08:02 AM
    Post #11


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 7
    Joined: 14-June 10
    Member No.: 20,549




    Was this ever resolved? I have a similar issue discussed in another post but I haven't found a solution yet. Mine was working for months as well and then randomly couldn't see my network shares. Any help is appreciated!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    TommyGloves
    post Jul 25 2010, 12:27 PM
    Post #12


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 1
    Joined: 28-November 09
    Member No.: 7,379




    Same problem here. It used to see my Network Shares.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    brooklynDev
    post Aug 9 2010, 05:30 PM
    Post #13


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 30-June 10
    Member No.: 21,403




    I too had my live hooking into my Samba shares no problem, I updated to firmware version 1.03.35, and now my shares are nowhere to be found. I downgraded to 1.02.21 and still my shares are gone. All this after having audio sync issues with AC3 for months. You suck WD, you suck.

    Here's hoping the Boxee Box is as good as it looks.

    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 12:51 AM