Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Display Resolution Question
    ccr
    post Jun 4 2010, 10:20 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 30-April 10
    Member No.: 18,073




    I just got my Gen 2 WDTV. My question is when setting display resolution in Audio/Video setup menu, should it be set to Auto or what my TV supports (which is 1080p 60hz). I'm thinking it should be Auto because of the different files...avi,mkv etc. I assume the wdtv does not upconvert any video files , or does it ?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Jun 4 2010, 10:20 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 02:37 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Jun 4 2010, 02:12 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,385
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    You would suppose Auto makes the player auto-detect the resolution of every file and adjust accordingly, but that is unfortunately not so. Best to set it to your TV's max. resolution. If a video stutters during playback, you can try matching the resolution to the video's and see if that helps.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    ccr
    post Jun 5 2010, 01:39 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 30-April 10
    Member No.: 18,073




    Thank you for your reply. I will set to my TV's max which is 1080p 60hz and give it a try.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    satvinder
    post Oct 8 2010, 10:36 AM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 8-October 10
    Member No.: 27,505




    hi,

    I just bought a WD Gen 2 and wanted to know if it upconverts.

    Thank you
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Oct 9 2010, 06:14 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,385
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Yes, it should upconvert/scale the video, though depending on your model your TV may have a far better scaler built-in. As mentioned above, try to set it to the max. resolution supported by your TV, but if the video stutters, you can try matching the setting to the video's resolution instead and see.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 02:37 PM