Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       No Audio on my WDTV
    11Neal
    post May 16 2009, 11:05 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 6
    Joined: 15-May 09
    Member No.: 219




    Hi All,

    I'm new to the community here and took delivery of my WDTV yesterday. I was initially using ATV hacked with XBMC/boxee but cldn't get the external hard drive to mount on the USB so gave up!. I stumbled on WDTV a few days ago and opted for this over a popcorn hour or hdx 1000 due to the simplicity.

    Although my initial impressions are quite favourable in terms that it will play ALL my downloaded MKV files, it WONT play all the audio that goes with them even though I have downloaded the latest firmware.

    This is such a great little player that this for me is the only downside and I would like some help resolving. When I play the file, the video plays but it says "digital" at the top of the screen and I get no sound. I have played around with the settings but still no joy, I guess this little magic box just doesn't support the audio codecs in my movies.

    Does anyone have any suggestions or perhaps someone out there can let me know of some EASY to use software that will allow me to re encode the audio portion of the file to a format the WDTV is happy with???. I'm no techy, so the easiest method possible is what I need..

    Your help is much needed and much appreciated!!.

    Neal
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post May 16 2009, 11:05 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 03:03 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    neverlift
    post May 16 2009, 11:29 AM
    Post #2


    WDTV Live X3
    Group Icon

    Group: Root Admin
    Posts: 2,213
    Joined: 15-March 09
    From: 204 Canada
    Member No.: 1




    Hi Neal,

    You should give us the mediainfo profile of your mkv, the WDTV might not support your audio contained inside your mkv container. Grab mediainfo > HERE. Let us know once you have that and someone should be able to direct you down the right path.

    Cheers!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post May 16 2009, 11:41 AM
    Post #3


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,433
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    what is the wdtv hooked up to for audio playback?

    if it's just a tv, no hope in hell of it ever playing dts, the wdtv will pass it off and you will need a dts capable receiver to decode and play the audio for you.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    11Neal
    post May 16 2009, 12:23 PM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 6
    Joined: 15-May 09
    Member No.: 219





    Guys,

    I've checked the files that won't play audio on my WDTV and they are all DTS encoded!. Is there an easy way of re encoding the audio portion to a compatible format?.

    BTW, I am hooked up directly to my hdtv via hdmi with no reciever in between!. Do I need a dts receiver to play dts?. Would I have the same issue with a Popcorn Hour as well cos that is my other option?

    Thanks,

    Neal.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    neverlift
    post May 16 2009, 12:50 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV Live X3
    Group Icon

    Group: Root Admin
    Posts: 2,213
    Joined: 15-March 09
    From: 204 Canada
    Member No.: 1




    Hey Neal,
    The only simple solution I know of is to buy a receiver that decodes the dts, unless you want to try the dts to ac3 guides located HERE. And yes you need that receiver to decode the dts. Im not really 100% sure but I think the popcorn hour is in the same boat. Hope this helps.

    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post May 16 2009, 04:29 PM
    Post #6


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,433
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    I have re-encoded a few files and it really doesn't take much more than 5 minutes or so..
    more of a pain in the 'you know what' than anything else..

    that's your cheapest option..
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 03:03 AM