Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Syabas' Popbox out now!
    WDUser
    post Jul 15 2010, 04:16 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/15/syabas-...bas-by-going-on

    The launch prices are $129.99 at Amazon.com, and $149.99 for the wireless version.

    Other than D-Link's Boxee Box, this is one of the most anticipated digital media players/streamers of 2010. If anyone finds a good review for this, don't forget to post a link here. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Jul 15 2010, 04:16 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 10:11 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Jul 16 2010, 03:00 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Great. So the first two reviews up on Amazon (and a third over at AVS Forum) state that they got bricked units with corrupt firmware, and neither is replacement FW up for download anywhere, nor is tech support responding. How nice. WTH is it with QA these days in most companies? Stupid cost-cutting measures... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    neverlift
    post Jul 21 2010, 10:18 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV Live X3
    Group Icon

    Group: Root Admin
    Posts: 2,213
    Joined: 15-March 09
    From: 204 Canada
    Member No.: 1




    Hate to say it but the Popbox appears to be junk. Most units need to be manually reset using a paperclip in the front right outta the box.

    Sad, I was really looking forward to this unit now I wouldnt touch it with a ten foot pole.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Jul 22 2010, 09:41 AM
    Post #4


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Yeah, looks to be yet another product that was rushed to market so that Syabas could get users to do the testing for them. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)

    Oh well, future FW updates should improve matters, but this is no way to function and I'm pretty sure they've lost a lot of potential sales this way (not to mention the returned units).
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 27th July 2014 - 10:11 PM