Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


    2 Pages V   1 2 >  
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       WDTV not playing video files
    outsiderr
    post Sep 1 2010, 10:05 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 1
    Joined: 1-September 10
    Member No.: 24,903




    Hi there, I have a WDTV 1st gen NTSC. Initially I was using 1.02.10 FW but all of a sudden it was unable to play .mkv files which used to play before. I tried the system reset and test an .avi file and it worked, however, when I tried to play an .mkv file it went back to a blank black screen (it also wouldn't play the .avi file after that happened). I updated to 1.03 (Official) but same thing happened as above. Any thoughts?

    Thanks
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Sep 1 2010, 10:05 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 07:04 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Sep 2 2010, 03:52 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Are you sure the very same MKVs used to play fine before? If they're new, the problem could very well be with header removal compression. If so, the fix is here.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Dexa
    post Sep 14 2010, 08:53 AM
    Post #3


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 14-September 10
    Member No.: 25,772




    Hey guys

    First, my WDTV HD is a G1 (WDAVP00BE)

    Now... Today when i swicthed the unit on, and wanted to continue my movie, it just goes black. I can select what file i want to play, but when i press Play, the screen just goes black. If i press Back, it goes back to the Folder screen and in the top middle i can see that it have chosen the movie, but just stands at 0:00:00/0:00:00 in the time-line.

    Now, if i reboot the unit, it will play the first file i select ex. a mp3 file or a mkv. But if i pause or stop it, i can't resume (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

    Very wierd problem. Anyone know a solution?

    Btw. Have tryed re-install firmware (1.03 Official) but no luck there. Tryed different harddrives, usb drives but no luck there either :/
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Sep 14 2010, 04:28 PM
    Post #4


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,401
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    mine did that when I used custom firmware and tried to use an ntp server, as soon as I disabled that it was fine..
    if you are using official firmware, try a system reset from within the menu, then if that doesn't help try a hard reset.

    also hook your USB device up to your computer and delete all .wd_tv folders and run a scandisk on them, then try again.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    josh098
    post Sep 14 2010, 08:41 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 11
    Joined: 14-September 10
    From: Canada
    Member No.: 25,804




    I am having this same problem today. It first happened with a Futurama episode (mkv). Nothing happened, screen just went black. Have to push home button to get out. Afterwards, it happened to all movies and show, mkv's and avi's. Had to reboot. Replaced that version with an M4V, and it played fine. Now it's happening with The Simpsons Season 13 mkv's. Seems like it's similar to the header issues mentioned, only affecting the video instead of audio. I don't know how to fix this problem tho.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    josh098
    post Sep 14 2010, 09:43 PM
    Post #6


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 11
    Joined: 14-September 10
    From: Canada
    Member No.: 25,804




    Here are the specs on one of the files causing this for me. I'm on the 1st gen, by the way.

    CODE
    * * * MediaInfo Mac 0.7.33.4 file analysis report.
    * * * MediaInfo Mac is 2010 by Diego Massanti - http://mediainfo.massanti.com
    * * * MediaInfoLib by Jerome Martinez - http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
    Created on: 15-Sep-10 12:39:50 AM ADT
    Report for file: 01 TREEHOUSE OF HORROR XII.mkv

    General / Container Stream #1
      Total Video Streams for this File.................1
      Total Audio Streams for this File.................1
      Total Subtitle Streams for this File..............1
      Video Codecs Used.................................AVC
      Audio Codecs Used.................................DTS
      SubTitle Codecs Used..............................UTF-8
      File Format.......................................Matroska
      Play Time.........................................22mn 36s
      Total File Size...................................639 MiB
      Total Stream BitRate..............................3 953 Kbps
      Encoded with......................................mkvmerge v4.2.0 ('No Talking') built on Jul 28 2010 18:38:23
      Encoding Library..................................libebml v1.0.0 + libmatroska v1.0.0

    Video Stream #1
      Codec (Human Name)................................AVC
      Codec (FourCC)....................................V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
      Codec Profile.....................................High@L4.1
      Frame Width.......................................960 pixels
      Frame Height......................................720 pixels
      Frame Rate........................................23.976 fps
      Total Frames......................................32517
      Display Aspect Ratio..............................4:3
      Scan Type.........................................Progressive
      Color Space.......................................YUV
      Codec Settings (Summary)..........................CABAC / 5 Ref Frames
      QF (like Gordian Knot)............................0.148
      Codec Settings (CABAC)............................Yes
      Codec Settings (Reference Frames).................5
      Video Stream Length...............................22mn 36s 231ms
      Video Stream BitRate..............................2 445 Kbps
      Bit Depth.........................................8 bits
      Video Stream Size.................................382 MiB (60%)
      Video Encoder.....................................x264 - core 104 r1688 0b36c6d
      Video Encoder (Settings)..........................cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=0 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=12 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=2445 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00

    Audio Stream #1
      Codec.............................................DTS
      Codec (FourCC)....................................A_DTS
      Audio Stream Length...............................22mn 36s 224ms
      Audio Stream BitRate..............................1 510 Kbps
      Audio Stream BitRate Mode.........................CBR
      Number of Audio Channels..........................6
      Audio Channel's Positions.........................Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
      Sampling Rate.....................................48.0 KHz
      Bit Depth.........................................24 bits
      Audio Stream Size.................................244 MiB (38%)

    Subtitle Stream #1
      Format............................................UTF-8
      Codec ID..........................................S_TEXT/UTF8
      Codec Info........................................UTF-8 Plain Text
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Dexa
    post Sep 15 2010, 07:30 AM
    Post #7


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 14-September 10
    Member No.: 25,772




    I tryed the Hard Reset. But didnt work as intended. Plays the first file i select perferct. But if i pause, stop or select another file, the screen just go either black or blue with the animated icon.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    NocturnalMofo
    post Sep 15 2010, 08:49 PM
    Post #8


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 1
    Joined: 15-September 10
    Member No.: 25,886




    I'm having the same exact problem. Mine started acting like this about two days ago. Tried everything that I can think of and it craps out everytime. Does WD have a solution for this yet?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Sep 16 2010, 04:07 AM
    Post #9


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,401
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    a better question would be does WD even give a damn about the Gen1 player at this point?

    a solution, highly unlikely from them anytime soon!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    bedchain
    post Sep 16 2010, 04:04 PM
    Post #10


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 19-March 10
    Member No.: 15,177




    I have had my WD HD TV player for just over a year now and after watching a couple of movies it decided it didnt want to play any of them anymore.
    I can access the menus, browse all the fies but when I play they just come up as a blank screen and nothing happens or appears.
    I'm not great at computers so any help be appreciated! I spent nearly 4hrs yesterday browsing the web for help!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Sep 16 2010, 08:19 PM
    Post #11


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    If neither a soft nor hard reset works, nor a FW reflash, the other hardware (HDD etc.) is ok and it's not a specific file (or files) that's causing the player to choke, could be a hardware issue with the player after all. Strange how so many people are facing similar problems at the same time though. Maybe these units have a date set for going kaput! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif) Anyone tried WD Support yet? (Not that I hope for any great ideas from them...)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    bedchain
    post Sep 19 2010, 01:57 PM
    Post #12


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 19-March 10
    Member No.: 15,177




    Tried WD Support and they're just as stumped as I am (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

    Not keen on purchasing another one, especially since I just recently moved home and am a little tight on the cash.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    josh098
    post Sep 20 2010, 04:59 PM
    Post #13


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 11
    Joined: 14-September 10
    From: Canada
    Member No.: 25,804




    I've come across two new movies, doing this. It's all newer .mkv's for me. Once you select them, the screen just goes black, then you can't pick any other movie until the unit is reset. sucks. can't find an answer anywhere. All mkv's were made with recent builds of mkvmerge.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Sep 22 2010, 02:18 AM
    Post #14


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Does remuxing those MKVs with an older version of MKVMerge 'fix' them?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    josh098
    post Oct 6 2010, 08:27 AM
    Post #15


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 11
    Joined: 14-September 10
    From: Canada
    Member No.: 25,804




    QUOTE (WDUser @ Sep 22 2010, 01:18 AM) *
    Does remuxing those MKVs with an older version of MKVMerge 'fix' them?

    i have v4.0.0 (the stars are mine), but have no idea how to use it. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Oct 6 2010, 09:59 AM
    Post #16


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,351
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    Look in the Tutorials section. There's a pinned topic there that should help. Only the Live and Live Plus players will get new FW that supports header compression, so owners of older models will unfortunately always need to 'fix' their MKVs henceforth. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    PangaDayWalker
    post Oct 6 2010, 01:14 PM
    Post #17


    WDTV Mod
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 212
    Joined: 8-July 09
    From: Brazil - Curitiba
    Member No.: 934




    QUOTE (WDUser @ Oct 6 2010, 11:59 AM) *
    Look in the Tutorials section. There's a pinned topic there that should help. Only the Live and Live Plus players will get new FW that supports header compression, so owners of older models will unfortunately always need to 'fix' their MKVs henceforth. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

    That is a pity to hear. I usually recreate anyways since I force the mkv to be 16x9 always and also input the SRT inside the MKV for better compatibility.

    But we should get a new release as well. And also the Western Digital should be more proactive and fix the Generation 1 bitmap tables for yellow subtitles!!

    I won't buy even a hard disk from them anymore since I am seeing what kind of support they provide to us...

    I am really disappointed with this!! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    josh098
    post Oct 6 2010, 04:24 PM
    Post #18


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 11
    Joined: 14-September 10
    From: Canada
    Member No.: 25,804




    (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif) Very happy to announce that I fixed one (so far) of my problem files. The same thing was happening that I mentioned before. I used MKVtools 2.4. Under the EDIT tab, there is a button "TURN OFF MKV'S HEADER REMOVAL COMPRESSION". Took a few minutes and worked perfectly. The funny thing is, I accidentally deleted MKVtools from my computer, and had to download it again, for something else i'm working on. The version I erased didn't have that option. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

    Ps thanks for the link to the tutorial, will check that out a little later
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    PangaDayWalker
    post Oct 7 2010, 06:32 AM
    Post #19


    WDTV Mod
    ********

    Group: Members
    Posts: 212
    Joined: 8-July 09
    From: Brazil - Curitiba
    Member No.: 934




    QUOTE (josh098 @ Oct 6 2010, 06:24 PM) *
    (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif) Very happy to announce that I fixed one (so far) of my problem files. The same thing was happening that I mentioned before. I used MKVtools 2.4. Under the EDIT tab, there is a button "TURN OFF MKV'S HEADER REMOVAL COMPRESSION". Took a few minutes and worked perfectly. The funny thing is, I accidentally deleted MKVtools from my computer, and had to download it again, for something else i'm working on. The version I erased didn't have that option. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

    Ps thanks for the link to the tutorial, will check that out a little later

    If you were using the 4.1 or below the option doesn't exists and all MKV container are created without header compression.

    So only new ones will have that option and cause problems.

    Cheers.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BusterB
    post Nov 30 2010, 05:42 AM
    Post #20


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 18
    Joined: 11-November 10
    From: Melbourne, Australia
    Member No.: 30,570




    Hey Guys,

    This .avi file (attatched) will not play, any ideas ?

    Thanks

    BB
    Attached File(s)
    Attached File  Movie_file.jpg ( 111.21K ) Number of downloads: 21
     
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    2 Pages V   1 2 >
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 07:04 PM