Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Question about using an External HD enclosure: Rosewill w/ JBOD/BIG
    bludd
    post Sep 8 2010, 10:03 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 20-April 10
    Member No.: 17,250




    I was looking to get 2 1 tb drives and putting them in some type of enclosure when I found this.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...2-192-_-Product

    The enclosure says, "The Rosewill hard drive external enclosure supports BIG & JBOD for concatenating and presenting two physical disks as a single disk. Thus the storage capability of the single logical disk is large enough for you to store bigger file. "

    Now I'm wondering if the WD HD TV v1 would be able to pick something like this up?

    If not I'll just go with the single bay enclosures but seeing a dual one seemed a little neater. Thanks in advance.

    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Sep 8 2010, 10:03 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 02:28 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    ToJa92
    post Sep 8 2010, 10:16 AM
    Post #2


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    I don't see any reason for why it shouldn't work. Just use BIG and it should appear as a big disk. One thing to think off though is that if one disk fails, you'll lose data.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Sep 8 2010, 01:37 PM
    Post #3


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,435
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    generally they only pick up one drive in an enclosure, some work, some don't..

    if my memory is correct, you can add a file called .addMounts to the drive it detects and it should pick up the second drive.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 02:28 AM