Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Netflix Freezing, WDTVLiveHub, canadian user, black screen of death
    zeburock
    post Aug 5 2011, 12:08 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 4-August 11
    Member No.: 73,592




    I've got the latest official WD firmware, 2.07.17 (although it always wants to reinstall it upon bootup... as talked about here, http://wdtvhd.com/index.php?showtopic=30966 )

    Netflix plays great. No hesitations, picture is clear all works fine...

    But as soon as the show is over, or I hit stop before it ends ~ I get a black screen, of death. Nothing to do but UNPLUG the device! sucks. Tried many things. Right now I'm going to attempt to roll back to 2.05.08 simply hoping this might somehow help.

    I don't know; and why should I? I didn't buy the cheapest device BECAUSE I didn't want problems... The $200 I spent on this media player could easily have got me a product from another company that built it better the first time.

    Take that, and tell me what I can do to have this thing working like promised. If I never have to come to this forum again, I'll be stoked.
    =Z
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Aug 5 2011, 12:08 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 10:42 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    zeburock
    post Aug 9 2011, 11:58 AM
    Post #2


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 4-August 11
    Member No.: 73,592




    Where's the tech support on this???

    no acknowledgement of my problem? not even a 'we're working on it'?? no lame suggestions of things I could do (that i've probably already tried)???

    wtf is this forum for, anyway? WD is letting me down; perhaps seagate isn't too bad afterall...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Aug 9 2011, 01:24 PM
    Post #3


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,417
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    perhaps you've confused our enthusiasts site with the official WD forum ..
    do you honestly think WD would have a 'custom firmware' section for all it's media players?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    captpixel
    post Aug 9 2011, 01:28 PM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    Group Icon

    Group: Site Supporter
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 12-June 11
    Member No.: 63,946




    I too am having problems with Netflix. I pick the movie and it starts to play then the media centre freezes. The only way out is to unplug the power cord. All of this since the last system upgrade!
    Does WD monitor this forum? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    WDUser
    post Aug 9 2011, 10:32 PM
    Post #5


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 4,373
    Joined: 14-November 09
    Member No.: 6,287




    QUOTE (captpixel @ Aug 10 2011, 12:58 AM) *
    Does WD monitor this forum? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

    Forget this forum, fat lot of good they do monitoring their own. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/angry.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    zeburock
    post Aug 27 2011, 12:43 PM
    Post #6


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 3
    Joined: 4-August 11
    Member No.: 73,592




    On the REAL WD Forums (apparently,) I got this advice ~
    http://community.wdc.com/t5/Firmware/HOW-T.../233316#U233316

    as found here ~
    http://community.wdc.com/t5/General-Discus...ath/td-p/238458

    I haven't yet looked into using this resolve, so I'll have to make time for it...
    =Z
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 10:42 PM