Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       f-secure and networking
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 28 2011, 07:35 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    hi
    i noticed that if my f-secure client security antivirus is on, then wd live, cant see my pc files. once i unload it, voila wd can see my computer. any idea how and what rules i have to alter in antivirus settings? thank you

    also even though i share my for instance, music folder, all folders innit arent shared. but in my videos folder, the folders inside video folder, are shared. what is wrong here? thank you
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Oct 28 2011, 07:35 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 12:15 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 29 2011, 05:13 AM
    Post #2


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    is it just anti virus or a complete suite? have you read any documentation for f-secure?

    I don't have it but it shouldn't take long to go into it and create a 'safe' zone or add exceptions for devices.
    it took me less than 15 minutes to figure out how to do it in a symantec suite for a client, it shouldn't take much longer for any other software.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 29 2011, 09:21 AM
    Post #3


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    it is a complete suite
    what is the general logic behind it?
    i have to allow some ports or the western digital ip? that is what puzzles me. also another problem is that in the folder i have my videos, i can see all subfolders, but in my myusic folder, i can see the fodler but not its contains. and both folders have exactly same properties.....
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 29 2011, 12:29 PM
    Post #4


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    you have to go in and create a safe zone or whatever they call it, allow IP's from your local LAN to have unrestricted access
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 30 2011, 08:04 AM
    Post #5


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    ok thanx mate i did it. just asign an ip to be allowed. the wd ip.
    still, even though i am sharing 5 folders, all with the same attributes, strangely enough only one of them is aactually being shared. the others, i can see their names ,in the media player, but i cannot access them. they are being showed as empty...any ideas?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 30 2011, 08:41 AM
    Post #6


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    sounds like a permissions issue on the folder itself.
    are you using WD firmware or WDLXTV custom firmware?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 30 2011, 10:01 AM
    Post #7


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    custom firmware my friend
    WDLXTV-LIVE 0.4.7.3 (Based on 1.03.49)
    all folders have same permissions though, i have checked it...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 30 2011, 11:09 AM
    Post #8


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    are you mounting your share or going through "media servers" or "network shares"?
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 30 2011, 12:26 PM
    Post #9


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    i am trying to achieve it through network share, mate. if i plug it in i can play the files. my point is to share them through my pc without having to plug a drive in my media player. thanx
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 30 2011, 02:17 PM
    Post #10


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    if you're using custom firmware you may just as well mount them so they appear as local drives.

    look in the package of the firmware download for net.mounts and open it with a text editor for examples.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 30 2011, 06:13 PM
    Post #11


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    it says
    xmount "//192.168.0.33/ShareName" "ShareName" cifs
    so for instance, if in my computer, the path to the folder i want to share is, D:\μtorrent\finished downloads
    can you please help me to tell me what i put in the netmound?
    ps. my pc's name is "PoRoTiKoS-PC"

    ps. so once i have fixed the net mounts file , will have to reflash the media player, or just leave this netmount file in the hdd i have always connected to the media player?

    sorry for my stupid questions, i am a noob concerning net mounts. i will go and also read the forum regarding netmounts. but if you could help me with thses questions, it would save so much time. anyways thank you very much
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Oct 30 2011, 06:50 PM
    Post #12


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,402
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    I never had much luck with sharing / mounting folders with spaces in the name.
    the computer name isn't used, it its the IP of the computer so if it's dynamic, you should make it a static IP outside of your router's DHCP range.

    for your case, D:\μtorrent\finished downloads, you would share the folder "finished downloads" and your net.mounts entry would be:

    xmount "//IP of your PC/finished downloads" "name_you_want_it_to_show_up_as_on_your_media_player" cifs

    that is basic, I use NFS which gives better performance, it will easily stream 1080p content where CIFS I could only get 720p streaming good.

    put the net.mounts file on an attached device and reboot.
    an easier way is to execute the net.mounts line in telnet

    to find your mounted share go to;
    video/local drives/folders
    with any luck it will be there and you will have access to your media.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    BURNIN AMBITION
    post Oct 30 2011, 08:35 PM
    Post #13


    WDTV SEMI-PRO
    **

    Group: Members
    Posts: 21
    Joined: 5-November 09
    Member No.: 5,723




    thanx my friend i will try it soon
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 12:15 AM