Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Weird: laptops detect WD TV Live, PC-s don't
    aHiLUs
    post Nov 28 2011, 01:49 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 28-November 11
    Member No.: 96,006




    So...I've managed to wirelessly connect all of my 3 laptops (2 of them Win7, 1 Win XP) with WD TV Live Streaming Media Player, WD Link also detected WD TV and external disk connected to it and I could also map it.

    But still, the 2 PC-s I own don't recognize WD TV, nor the external disk. It is even more weird, since I have no problems connecting to the internet and to other PC and laptops in network. PC-s dont' recognize only WD TV.

    Could it be that the wireless network card in PC-s (the same one in both of them --> http://www.canyon-tech.com/archive/connect...reless/CN-WF511) is somehow not compatibile with WD TV? I can't think of any other option left...
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Nov 28 2011, 01:49 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 06:19 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    Rev Drew
    post Nov 28 2011, 05:26 PM
    Post #2


    Global Moderator
    Group Icon

    Group: Global Mod :: Site Supporter
    Posts: 2,423
    Joined: 4-April 09
    From: Canada eh?
    Member No.: 10




    firewall? workgroup name? subnet? different networks in your place?

    no clue really, just throwing out ideas
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    aHiLUs
    post Nov 29 2011, 11:53 AM
    Post #3


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 28-November 11
    Member No.: 96,006




    Tried a different WiFi card, still doesn't work.

    Turned the firewall off, workgroup name is OK, it's the only network here, don't know about the subnet.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 06:19 PM