Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Media Library Database
    Phil Coxon
    post Aug 17 2009, 02:07 PM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 4
    Joined: 17-August 09
    From: united kingdom
    Member No.: 1,833




    Hi Have a WD TV, and a 1TB WD USB Drive,

    I've changed the contents of the drive, but when i re connect the changes are not recognized.

    Is it possible to force the WD TV to re scan and re index the attached USB hard drive ?

    Any help welcome, have searchged the forums but havn't found any topics that help !!!


    Thx
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Aug 17 2009, 02:07 PM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 11:31 PM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    neverlift
    post Aug 17 2009, 05:40 PM
    Post #2


    WDTV Live X3
    Group Icon

    Group: Root Admin
    Posts: 2,213
    Joined: 15-March 09
    From: 204 Canada
    Member No.: 1




    Hi Phil, Try deleting the .wd_tv dir on your external drive where you just updated. Also I run ext3-boot custom firmware so I have a usb stick always attached, alls I do is hit the Factory Restore and it does it all for me. Hope this made some sense, let me know what kidn of problems youre running into.

    Cheers!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    ToJa92
    post Aug 18 2009, 12:23 AM
    Post #3


    WDTV GEEK
    Group Icon

    Group: Moderator
    Posts: 500
    Joined: 27-July 09
    From: /dev/null
    Member No.: 1,257




    QUOTE (Phil Coxon @ Aug 17 2009, 10:07 PM) *
    Hi Have a WD TV, and a 1TB WD USB Drive,

    I've changed the contents of the drive, but when i re connect the changes are not recognized.

    Is it possible to force the WD TV to re scan and re index the attached USB hard drive ?

    Any help welcome, have searchged the forums but havn't found any topics that help !!!


    Thx


    If you turn off media library and then turn it on again I think it will rescan. Not sure tough.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    tilerone
    post Aug 18 2009, 01:19 AM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 5
    Joined: 26-July 09
    Member No.: 1,241




    QUOTE (ToJa92 @ Aug 18 2009, 07:23 AM) *
    If you turn off media library and then turn it on again I think it will rescan. Not sure tough.

    Yep, works for me (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Phil Coxon
    post Aug 18 2009, 06:02 AM
    Post #5


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 4
    Joined: 17-August 09
    From: united kingdom
    Member No.: 1,833




    QUOTE (neverlift @ Aug 17 2009, 06:40 PM) *
    Hi Phil, Try deleting the .wd_tv dir on your external drive where you just updated. Also I run ext3-boot custom firmware so I have a usb stick always attached, alls I do is hit the Factory Restore and it does it all for me. Hope this made some sense, let me know what kidn of problems youre running into.

    Cheers!



    Hi Thanks for the tip, should have thought of that myself as I had previously reformatted the unit to NFTS rather than FAT32. Will give it a go and report back.

    Thanks

    PS any recommendations on custom skins for the unit
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    Phil Coxon
    post Aug 18 2009, 03:03 PM
    Post #6


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 4
    Joined: 17-August 09
    From: united kingdom
    Member No.: 1,833




    QUOTE (neverlift @ Aug 17 2009, 05:40 PM) *
    Hi Phil, Try deleting the .wd_tv dir on your external drive where you just updated. Also I run ext3-boot custom firmware so I have a usb stick always attached, alls I do is hit the Factory Restore and it does it all for me. Hope this made some sense, let me know what kidn of problems youre running into.

    Cheers!


    Hi,

    Deleted the dir, reset the WD TV but no luck.
    I've down loaded the ext3 firmware and going to give that a try, just looking for a install guide if available..

    Thx
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 11:31 PM