Forum - Index
Welcome to the WDTVFORUMS, Please register.

WD TV HD the media player by Western Digital plays almost any Movie format and Music format. Please take the time to register and show support as well as give support for all WD TV models. Use the link below to register and enjoy all the advantages of being a member, enter upcoming contests, see all the images and enjoy all the downloadable content the forum has to offer. Thank you and see you on the boards!

  • REGISTER HERE! (fast and free)

  • Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


     
    Reply to this topicStart new topic
       Connect WDTV live directly to computer using ethernet cable
    trasver
    post Dec 10 2009, 11:59 AM
    Post #1


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 1
    Joined: 9-December 09
    Member No.: 8,325




    Tried searching around for this which probably means it's not possible!

    I'd like to connect my WDTV live directly to my computer using an ethernet cable i.e. straight from the WDTV into ethernet port on back of computer.

    I use a mac mini so don't think there'll be any problems needing a crossover cable.

    Hope this is possible as I'd then have my dream setup!!

    Cheers

    Simon
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    post Dec 10 2009, 11:59 AM
    Post #


    SITE SUPPORT


    Group: Bot

    Joined: Today, 01:18 AM




    Go to the top of the page
     
    Quote Post
    sickboy
    post Dec 11 2009, 05:00 AM
    Post #2


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 30-November 09
    Member No.: 7,498




    It is possible, im using it that way and sharing the laptop internet.
    One thing though..You need a standard cable, not crossover.
    Good luck!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    jocorreia
    post Dec 21 2009, 12:52 PM
    Post #3


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 8
    Joined: 7-December 09
    Member No.: 8,147




    Why don't you connect directly the ethernet cable to a wireless router (which i guessing you have). This way you don't need your Mac powered up to see the internet services provived by WDTV live.
    Otherwive, if you want to see something stored in your mac, simply boot the machine... wireless from mac to router, cable from router to WDTV, cable from WDTV to TV.
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    taylorme27
    post Jan 27 2010, 04:36 PM
    Post #4


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 1
    Joined: 27-January 10
    Member No.: 11,890




    QUOTE (sickboy @ Dec 11 2009, 05:00 AM) *
    It is possible, im using it that way and sharing the laptop internet.
    One thing though..You need a standard cable, not crossover.
    Good luck!

    Hi, would you mind telling me how you set up the network settings to get this to work? Here is what I have:

    WDTV Live
    Windows XP Pro PC
    Standard Cat6 Ethernet Cable

    What settings should I setup on the NIC card in the PC?
    What settings should I setup on the WD network settings?

    Is there already a post somewhere out on the internet that explains this?

    Thanks in advance!
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post
    black wolf
    post Aug 27 2010, 12:54 AM
    Post #5


    WDTV USER
    *

    Group: Members
    Posts: 2
    Joined: 27-August 10
    Member No.: 24,544




    copied from a post on amazon.com 'user review'
    Read here from original post.
    ______________________________________________
    The natural followup was to try a wired network. Since I had no interest in the internet features and my router wasn't nearby, I ran a cable directly from my file server to the WDTV. A crossover cable was not required; ordinary CAT-5/e/6 will do. I then set the server network adapter's TCP/IP settings to:

    IP: 10.0.0.1
    Subnet: 255.0.0.0

    All other settings blank. And the WDTV, I set to:

    IP: 10.0.0.2
    Subnet: 255.0.0.0

    All other settings blank.
    _______________________________________________

    I just tried it and it seems to work fine. (couple problems with my old sony laptop though. Doesn't like it when I look into the folder that contains large .mkv files. but i think it's more to do with the computer, since it works fine when connected to my router network with my main system serving the same files.)

    Good Luck
    Black Wolf
    Go to the top of the page
     
    +Quote Post

    Reply to this topicStart new topic
    1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
    0 Members:

     

    Lo-Fi Version
    Delete cookies set by this board · Mark all posts as read
    Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 01:18 AM